‘Burger King’ Paul Campbell again

We have already established that Jamaica cricket president and WICB director Mr. Paul Campbell uses the JCA credit card to shop at Burger King and to pay for his personal stuff. In this open letter from his Vice President, we are now finding out that Mr. Campbell also wanted his board to “approve reimbursements based on credit card chits and requests made on a sheet of paper.”

Ladies and gentlemen, this is a WICB director.

AN OPEN LETTER TO PRESIDENT PAUL CAMPBELL, JAMAICA CRICKET ASSOCIATION

Dear Mr. President,

Over the past few months there has been a lot said about the division in the Board and a lot of blame has been placed at my feet and those who support me in the upcoming election.  In addition to these accusations much has been said to suggest that this has slowed the development of cricket in Jamaica.  As I consider these accusations unfounded I now seek to outline what I and those who support me have stood for over the last two years. Please feel free to answer this letter outlining what areas I or those who support my vision failed to give support on.

Staff Employment

I lent full support to the employment of the Technical Director, CEOs and the Marketing Officer only insisting that due process be followed.  On provision of the relevant information that due process was being followed, these appointments were all supported by me, as well as those who now back my candidacy.

Competitions & Training Programmes

In addition to the standard competitions and training programmes which were never in dispute, we lent support in the initial stages to the Semi Professional League.  After the first year and based on a cost of approximately $24m to the Board based on the limited sponsorship, the lack of spectator interest and the fact that the quality of cricket being played showed no improvement, I was among a group which asked that a review be taken where this competition was concerned.  It was felt that we were not getting value and as such a new-look competition be introduced.  It is this proposal which is now gaining traction for the 2011 season.  Despite that request no change was made, resulting in the second year costing the Board in the region of $16m as in the main this competition went unsponsored and again showed little in terms of quality cricket.

Committees

There has also been much talk about my refusal to act as the Chairman of the Cricket Development Committee.  As indicated to you at the time, I suggested that based on the work done by Mr. Fritz Harris in the past he should be considered as the Chairman and I would act as monitor.  I subsequently agreed with you to take on this role since the then Chairman had resigned; I  heard nothing further from you on this issue and only learned at a subsequent Board meeting that another Chairman had been appointed.

I also raised concern when an outside Chairman was chosen for the Finance Committee and this was based on the practice in the past which saw the Treasurer chairing this committee.  When the reason given for the change to involve external professionals was advanced no further issue was raised, and I took time out to attend and participate in a few of those committee meetings.

Cricket Festival

The idea of a Cricket Festival had my full support and I do believe all members of the Board.  However, concerns were raised about execution and the fact that this was being run almost independently of the Board with not even the involvement of the executive.  We approved a $1m contribution from the Board based on your commitment to the Board that the rest of the cost was covered by sponsorship.

I am on record as stating that while the execution was poor and inexcusable we cannot allow the JCA to be embarrassed and as such the cost incurred must be borne by us temporarily until we receive the funds from the prospective sponsors.

If my opposition of its poor execution, which resulted in losses of over $16m, is what I am being accused of, then I have no hesitation doing so again to ensure that the limited funds are used in the best possible way for the future development of our players.

India Trip

When you proposed the trip to India and the benefits to be derived this had my full support as well as many Directors of the Board who now support my Presidential candidacy. We only raised an issue when the Board was asked to make reimbursements without the submission of proper supporting documents to substantiate what was being claimed.  While we were not questioning anyone’s integrity on the Board, in the interest of transparency and accountability, we did not think it prudent to approve reimbursements based on credit card chits and requests made on a sheet of paper.

It should be noted that while this trip took place a year ago costing around $1.3m, it received our full  support  based on the promises and potential you reported it held despite your failure to submit even an invitation letter from the relevant group in India. Ironically, you have not provided an update as to where this MOU now stands.

There is no doubt however, that there are some issues which we have been uncomfortable with and will continue to be, should they arise again, viz.:

1.    The use of the JCA’s credit card for personal use contrary to the initial intention for which the card was intended.
2.    Your continued failure to complete the expense report related to the card’s use so the audit mandated by the Board can be conducted to see if all personal expenses have been repaid and whether the late fees and interest incurred are for your account or that of the JCA.
3.    The heavy expenditure on issues such as catering and events without tendering despite warnings of the Board’s inability to afford it.
4.    The lack of engagement of your entire executive in major decisions which are many times heard on the floor of meetings or after a decision has been made.

Mr. President I outline these as some of the major areas of discontent which I can readily recall. However, if there are other areas where I or those who now support my candidacy, failed to support resulting in cricket suffering, then I look forward to you highlighting those to me in writing.

The aim of this open letter is not to cause division but to clear the air on issues which have been bandied about and which I believe need to be addressed.  I must tell you I consider some of the public utterances by your team unacceptable, and will seek to ensure that my team is mindful of protecting the image of the JCA at all times. Please encourage your team to do likewise.

Yours truly,
Lyndel Wright
1st Vice President-JCA

Download and save your own copy openlettertopaulcampbell.pdf

Comments are closed.